*If this issue matters to you at all – please pass this on. Two weeks is hardly enough time to get the word out how dangerous Measure 91 really is*
It takes about 6 ounces of hard liquor or about 48 ounces of beer for the average person to blow 0.08 and equal the impairment of a single marijuana joint. That means a fifth of hard liquor is about equal to 1.5 gallons of beer is about equal to four joints. Oregon Measure 91 will allow ANYONE age 21 and over to privately grow and possess the equivalent of 1000 joints (16 ounces) of marijuana products at any one time. That is a rough equivalent to 375 gallons of beer or 250 fifths of hard liquor. In Oregon, it is illegal to produce a drop of hard liquor without a license. Period. The maximum amount of unlicensed, home-brewed beer you can possess is 100 gallons, the intoxication equivalent of about 250 joints, except you can’t fit the beer in your coat pocket and hang out near the school yard. This single disparity makes clear the mindset and real intent of the authors and supporters of Measure 91. They want as many people as possible to smoke as much pot as possible, the rest of society be damned.
The Consequences of Passing Measure 91
- Unlicensed Possession No Longer a Crime: Not only will any adult be able to lawfully grow and possess enough marijuana to bake the entire Gladstone High School student body, ORS 475.864 clearly states a minor who possess up to 60 joints (1 ounce) of marijuana will only be subject to a non-criminal fine of $650. Compare that to ORS 471.430, Oregon’s “minor in possession of alcohol” statute where a minor drinking a lone can of Bud Light can be criminally cited and fined, or be required to do community service. Remember, 60 joints is equal to about 15 fifths of vodka.
- Impaired Drivers Not Subject to Criminal Prosecution: Section 7:3 and 7:4 do not require the OLCC to create impairment standards until 2017. That means we will have two years without meaningful intoxicated driver rules. Marijuana users are already 9X more likely to die behind the wheel than alcohol users, so buckle-up for a rough two years as gorked pot-heads mow us down with impunity. Even if they are cited, Section 73:2 states it will only be a class B traffic violation… like a parking ticket. Try pulling that off if you blow 0.08!
- Failure to Keep, or Destruction of, Production Records is Only a Class B Misdemeanor: Pharmacies have to keep their records for 10 years. According the Section 40 and Section 69, Marijuana producers are only required to keep their records for two years. If they do not keep those records, or alter or destroy those records, they are only subject to a Class B misdemeanor. Section 23 requires the OLCC to give any licensee 72 hours notice before examining their books, allowing them plenty of time to destroy their records if need be.
- No Limits On, or Records of Purchasers or Purchases: Everywhere in the United States, to avoid mass purchasing and diversion to the illegal methamphetamine market, the selling pharmacy records the name of every person who purchases pseudoephedrine. Under Section 16 of Measure 91, there is no requirement to keep such records about marijuana purchasers or purchases. As a matter of fact, even though THC is a highly abused, impairing drug, Section 72 of the bill demands that marijuana no longer be considered a controlled substance.
- OLCC is Mandated to Generate New Users: Only 5% of tax revenues actually go to drug abuse prevention programs, while Section 33:5:a mandates that the OLCC will maximize tax revenue generation. There is only one way to maximize revenues, and that is to generate new users. To maximize new users, Section 7:2:g gives the OLCC the authority to allow advertisements to promote consumption of marijuana.
- Section 42 states that the State has exclusive rights to tax revenue: No city, county or other entity can levy any marijuana taxes.
- The OLCC Cannot Deny Licenses to Known Criminals: Section 29:3:a clearly states that the OLCC cannot consider marijuana related convictions older than 5 years when issuing a license if it was a single transgression… no matter how bad it was. Period.
- The OLCC and Other Agencies are Required to Violate Federal Law When it Conflicts with Measure 91 Language: Sections 10, 11 & 12 clearly state the OLCC and other agencies are required to violate federal law if it conflicts with measure 91, and no individual of an agency can be held liable for official acts. Also, the OLCC is not allowed to deny any marijuana license application based on a violation of federal law.
- According to Section 58, Measure 91 will supercede all charters and ordinances that are inconsistent with the measure.
- Section 54 states that the law enforcement can only issue a minor citation to pot-heads for smoking in public places.
- Nowhere in the bill does it mention variations in potency or creating standards in THC content, or potency labeling requirements, as exists for producers of alcoholic beverages.
- Nowhere in the bill does it require health warnings on packaging even though there is substantial clinical evidence marijuana is dangerous for pregnant women. Every single person in the Oregon General Election Voter’s Pamphlet who supports measure 91, supports omitting any and all health and safety warnings. Can you imagine nurses like Mark Jacklin, Maggi O’Brien, Pat Hughes, Rosemary Piser, and Davi Hawk actually wanting to deny safety information to pregnant women? What a shameful lot of healthcare providers.
Seriously, you better read this measure before you vote, because I can guarantee you, if Oregon voters pass this bill, innocent people are to get hit and killed by stoned drivers at rates never seen before. Your friends. Your family. Maybe you. It is already happening in Washington and Colorado.